Over the top lads!

19 11 2008

nacouwemm_023

The battledrums were in full swing last night on Axe Bite, as we witnessed and participated in a server first!

I logged with a plan for looking for a bit of rumble with the Order and ended up being drafted into the Destruction Army on a world tour of destruction and pillage. Well at least joined up with the Warband that was rampaging through Praag. As I joined up 2 warbands were close to locking down Praag, and were hitting up all the PQs. Order defence was nonexistant and the Keeps and battle objectives were taken and held with no problems. After around 30 minutes of my joining the victory points ticked over and Praag was taken, and the armies of Destruction marched on Reikland.

It is pretty impressive to see 2 organised warbands blitz through objectives and Keep taking, and with little to no Order resistance, the Reikland, Keeps fell quickly and objectives with them and we swtitched to the scenario and PQs to work on the victory points. By this stage Order were starting to realise that the Reikland Fortress was in iminent danger and the defenders started to mass.  We seemed to sit at around 96 victory points for around an hour as a to and fro battle to defend objectives and Keeps flowed up and down the map (Although at times I just kept getting the Benny Hill music in my head, as we rushed to one objective found the fight finished and turned around and rushged right back to the last). At around 11pm Orders forces were starting to get decently organised but Victory Points ticked over and Reikland fell!

I should at this point that the majority of the Destruction forces were in the late 30s and level 40s. I was rolling along at a scary 31, desparately trying to avoid mobs and any Order spotting me for the soft and very squishy zealot I am!

nacouwemm_027

We all piled down to the Reikland Fortress, a huge place encomassing a small town within its walls, with 3 gates before getting into the Keep. My recollections at this point become somewhat hazy, as my computer decided that 2/3 warbands panelling in the doors was enough, and fps dropped to a very jerky low number! Order resistance was at this point still almost non-existant, although I was imagining some frantic shouts going out in Altdorf at around this time! We made it to the main Keep within the fortress and all hell broke loose. The Fortress Keep is a lot larger than your normal Keeps, and inhabited by Champions, Heros and I think a Lord. Again the amount of players and frame rate made it largely difficult to tell what the hell was going on. Things started getting hairy as a few of us dropped, and Order suddenly piled up the stairs on mass. With only around 8 or 9 left in our warband, it looked as if the grand adventure was over, when suddenly the capture message popped and we took the Fortress!

This gave Destruction all of the Chaos Tier with just K…… Valley left in the High Elf tier with Order and the one last block before we could mount a city seige! Everyone piled to KV and we swiftly sweeped up the zone.

In the northern keep capture, I somehow managed to come first and the gold loot bag was mine (Annihilator set piece!), but lag and 30 players around the chest meant it despawned before I could grab it!!! I cried! Lots!

nacouwemm_026

Order seemed to finally get its act together by this stage and started to mount a decent defence, harrying us on a number of battle objectives across the map and splitting our force. This went back and forth for some time, and it seemed we had pretty much reaached a stalemate, and I had to return to barracks for the night. I’m looking forward to seeing the state fo the map tonight!

Hopefully some of the screenshots do some justice to the impressiveness of WAR’s RvR at this scale. If this is an indication of how life will be like end game wise in RvR, I can’t wait. Lots of fun, and altough I’m not sure how much I was able to contribute to the carnage, being a part of this was so much fun.

Would have been nice to get that gold bag though!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment